Looking Back

No_8c7393_2463211

I had a wonderful time reading through my classmates’ posts on Topic 1. All of them have their own interesting points to share, but there were a few notable ones that got me thinking, or rather, I couldn’t help but agree.

Sara mentioned that Prensky’s concept is flawed due to the age biases. It got me thinking if it takes a certain level of understanding of the use of technology for both the young and old generations is vital in searching for information.

The answer to that question is on Simon’s post on Motivation.

Eureka! Digital Visitor me searching for answers!

Simon stated that one must first understand the motivation behind why people use the web and for what purpose. It is all up the the person’s willingness to learn the technology that they need to achieve the goal that they want.

This brings back all that I have learnt in Human Resource Management. There is a need to understand one’s behaviour of using the web by understanding more than what Prensky mentioned of age.

Another blog that I have enjoyed reading is Vanessa’s one. She gave the example that, as marketers, it is our duty to be able to change digital visitors to digital residents. I fully agree with this idea of changing digital visitors to digital residents. Using her example of ASOS.com, it got me thinking how ASOS.com measures the amount of viewers of the sites are digital visitors or digital residents. Is it by measuring the number of sales? Or is it by seeing how many people saves clothing into their wish lists?

These are all debatable issues.

One thing that I could take away from this topic is that everyone falls into the two category of digital visitors and digital residents with some motivation spurring them to use the web.

Cheers!


http://saradanlee.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/digital-visitor-vs-digital-resident/

http://wingslykeagles.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/topic-1-digital-residents-and-visitors/

http://vanessalisoton.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/topic-1-digital-residence-digital-visitors/

Leave a comment