Looking Back

And now, it’s time for me to do another reflection. I have to say that this topic is rather interesting to discuss on and I have enjoyed reading the arguments that my classmates have came up with, ranging from going against multiple identities to going for multiple identities. Me, for one, goes against multiple identities.

I like Yiming‘s post where he stated that having a wild photo on the social media does not represent who you are and how well you do in your work, but instead it represents that the person knows how to balance between work and play.

Eve‘s comment on my post made me think how wild is it to be considered wild? Amanda‘s post would help answer that question. Certain professions do require the need to separate their private and professional profile. The education industry, for example, needs to ensure that. Students should not be able to know much about their teacher’s private lives. It would be awkward I feel. However, what one of my lecturers did back in college was that he added us into his private profile after we graduated. I feel that that is a reasonably good idea for both the students and the teacher itself.

All in all, I feel that it is up to each and everyone’s discretion on creating multiple identities on social media, but do not abuse it! For me, I think that it is fine to have just one profile to sum up all my activities, be it for work or for my private life. It is rather troublesome to update so many accounts at one go! I guess, as marketers, it is important to show the fun-lovingness of our lives to our bosses or potential employers. As for other professions, I guess, it is not as easy.

Cheers, Aetiiqcaz


yiming@ SotonMANG2049, (2014). Reflection: ONE Online Identity or MORE?. [online] Available at: http://yimingsotonmang2049.wordpress.com/2014/12/02/reflection-one-online-identity-or-more/ [Accessed 2 Dec. 2014].

aetiiqcaz., (2014). One girlfriend or more? Hmm…. [online] Available at: https://aetiiqcaz.wordpress.com/2014/12/01/one-girlfriend-or-more-hmm/comment-page-1/#comment-7 [Accessed 2 Dec. 2014].

Amanda’s, (2014). Distinguishing Personal and Work Life?. [online] Available at: http://limxuanamanda.wordpress.com/2014/12/01/distinguishing-personal-and-work-life?/ [Accessed 2 Dec. 2014].

http://yimingsotonmang2049.wordpress.com/2014/12/01/single-or-multiple-online-identity/comment-page-1/#comment-12

http://limxuanamanda.wordpress.com/2014/12/01/distinguishing-personal-and-work-life?/comment-page-1/#comment-4

Leave a comment